European Football - EPL etc

Show your colours - join the AFL & NRL 2011 Tipping Competitions ..Basketball, Cricket, Tennis, A-League and all other sports. ..it's all here in the Locker Room.
User avatar
Secret Life Extra
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:20 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: North Shore, Sydney
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:25 pm
cmon liverpool don't dissapoint!

<-- man utd fan D:

hopefully with baros back, and cisse with a few games under his belt, and if xabi alonso can keep that fine form he had vs tottenham going they might be able to sneak a 1 or 2 goal aggregate advantage

~
empthree
User avatar
Secret Life Extra
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:20 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: North Shore, Sydney
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:48 am
Goaless draw at Stamford Bridge
[b:0541d7c153] Chelsea 0 - 0 Liverpool[/b:0541d7c153]

ive taken a few clips that ive found

[quote:0541d7c153]Benitez (Lpool Coach): "I think we performed well at Chelsea and deserved the draw. We controlled the game for long periods and forced them to play long balls, which we were able to deal with.

Mourinho (Chelsea Coach): "Liverpool played well tonight. They didn't play an offensive game but they played an intelligent game. Football is for intelligent people and Liverpool were intelligent. Everything was slow, slow, slow. Although they played defensively I cannot say they didn't try to play football. They fought very well. They defended very well but they lost Xabi Alonso for the next game at Anfield. They'll have to cope without him just like we've had to cope without Duff".[/quote:0541d7c153]

Which is correct Xabi Alonso with a late controversial challenge on Gudjohnsen earned him a [color=red:0541d7c153]red [/color:0541d7c153]card which means he will miss the second leg at Anfield.


I watched much of the game and i must say very well played by liverpool, it looked like they didn't really expect to score they played so defensive, which is not always bad..

Just keep in mind in case of an Aggregate draw the team with the most away goals will win. So if its 1-1 at Anfield, Chelsea go through.

My prediction though, is Chelsea 1-0 Liverpool. I feel chelsea's form have just been to great for Liverpool to overcome, but with their recent performance i hope i am proved wrong, with some home crowd support might be enough to sneak a lead and then defend for their lives.

/rant
empthree
User avatar
Hollywood Extra
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:09 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Starbug
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 12:22 pm
For all those who didn't/couldn't watch it live, it will be replayed tonight at 10pm on SBS.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:39 pm
[b:f0abbbb42d]Ferdinand answers Ferguson demand[/b:f0abbbb42d]

[quote:f0abbbb42d]Rio Ferdinand has responded to Sir Alex Ferguson's demand for loyalty by saying he wants to stay at Manchester United.

Ferdinand, backed by Ferguson during an eight-month ban for failing to take a drugs test, has yet to sign a new deal.

And Ferguson warned: "We are not going to be messed about. We have shown great faith in signing these players and we need to see it returned."

But Ferdinand said: "I want to stay at Manchester United. I have said that from the beginning."

Ferguson was also angry about Ferdinand's meeting with Chelsea chief executive Peter Kenyon in a London restaurant, even though the Stamford Bridge club have been at pains to insist they have no interest in signing him.

Now he has demanded an end to the saga, saying: "Rio's agent is apparently out of the country. There is nothing much we can do about that but when he gets back we want a decision.

"It is important to the Manchester United fans that they get one."

But Ferdinand said: "I can understand the fans' frustrations but people have to understand contract negotiations do not happen over one or two days.

"They can take time and this is one of those situations. My agent is out of the country, which has slowed things down a touch, but hopefully they will be speeded up in the coming days.

"I am happy at Manchester United and I want to sign but these things do not happen overnight."

Ferguson, meanwhile, claims to be mystified by the comments from Roy Carroll's agent Francis Martin that the Northern Ireland international would be willing to sign a new deal this summer if the United boss pledged not to buy a new keeper.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4498187.stm[/quote:f0abbbb42d]

Discuss!
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:57 pm
This weekend's games and mid week games:

[b:40519ecca6]Saturday, 30th March[/b:40519ecca6]
Birmingham v Blackburn, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday)
Fulham v Everton, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday)
Liverpool v Middlesbrough, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday)
Man City v Portsmouth, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday)
Newcastle v Crystal Palace, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday)
Southampton v Norwich, kick off at 12:00am (AEST Sunday), live on Fox Sports Two
Bolton v Chelsea, kick off at 2:15am (AEST Sunday), live on Fox Sports Two

[b:40519ecca6]Sunday, 1st May[/b:40519ecca6]
Tottenham v Aston Villa, kick off at 10:00pm (AEST)
Charlton v Man Utd, kick off at 1:05am (AEST Monday), live on Fox Sports One

[b:40519ecca6]Monday, 2nd May[/b:40519ecca6]
West Brom v Arsenal, kick off at 5:00am (AEST Tuesday), live on Fox Sports One

[b:40519ecca6]Wednesday, 4th May[/b:40519ecca6]
Fulham v Newcastle, kick off at 4:45am (AEST Thursday)

Discuss!
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 10:34 pm
[b:9115260ca4]Yesterday's Results:[/b:9115260ca4]

Birmingham 2 - 1 Blackburn
Bolton 0 - 2 Chelsea
Fulham 2 - 0 Everton
Liverpool 1 - 1 Middlesbrough
Man City 2 - 0 Portsmouth
Newcastle 0 - 0 Crystal Palace
Southampton 4 - 3 Norwich

[b:9115260ca4]Today's Results so far:[/b:9115260ca4]
Tottenham 5 - 1 Aston Villa
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 5:32 pm
The week ahead!:

[b:2deca44597]Saturday, 7th May[/b:2deca44597]
Chelsea v Charlton, kick off at 7:30pm AWST/9:00pm ACST/9:30pm AEST live on Fox Sports Two
Aston Villa v Man City, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Blackburn v Fulham, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Crystal Palace v Southampton, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday) live on Fox Sports Two
Everton v Newcastle, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Middlesbrough v Tottenham, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Norwich v Birmingham, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Portsmouth v Bolton, kick off at 10:00pm AWST/11:30pm ACST/12:00am AEST (Sunday)
Man Utd v West Brom, kick off at 12:15am AWST (Sunday)/1:45am ACST (Sunday)/2:15am AEST (Sunday) live on Fox Sports Two

[b:2deca44597]Sunday, 8th May[/b:2deca44597]
Arsenal v Liverpool, kick off at 11:05pm AWST/12:35am ACST (Monday)/1:05pm AEST (Monday) live on Fox Sports Two

[b:2deca44597]Tuesday, 10th May[/b:2deca44597]
Man Utd v Chelsea, kick off at 3:00am AWST (Wednesday)/4:30am ACST (Wednesday)/5:00am AEST (Wednesday) live on Fox Sports One

[b:2deca44597]Wednesday[/b:2deca44597]
Arsenal v Everton, kick off at 3:00am AWST (Thursday)/4:30am ACST (Thursday)/5:00am AEST (Thursday) live on Fox Sports One

Discuss!
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 12:16 am
It's all over for Crystal Palace, Norwich City and Southampton.

Chelsea may of won the league, but I'm sure West Bromwich Albion feel like the champions today.

P.S. I could be a commentator with comments like that :P
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 12:57 am
[b:4fa9d2ae2b]Final table for 2004/05 English Premier League Season[/b:4fa9d2ae2b]

1. Chelsea (qualifies for UEFA Champions League)
2. Arsenal (qualifies for UEFA Champions League)
3. Manchester United (qualifies for UEFA Champions League)
4. Everton (qualifies for UEFA Champions League)
5. Liverpool (qualifies for UEFA Cup)
6. Bolton Wanderers (qualifies for UEFA Cup)
7. Middlesbrough (qualifies for UEFA Cup)
8. Manchester City
9. Tottenham Hotspur
10. Aston Villa
11. Charlton Athletic
12. Birmingham
13. Fulham
14. Newcastle United
15. Blackburn Rovers
16. Portsmouth
17. West Bromwich Albion
18. Crystal Palace (relegated to English Championship)
19. Norwich (relegated to English Championship)
20. Southampton (relegated to English Championship)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/table/default.stm

[b:4fa9d2ae2b]Clubs in the 2005/06 English Premier League (last season's result in brackets)[/b:4fa9d2ae2b]

UPDATED 31 MAY 2005

Arsenal (2nd)
Aston Villa (10th)
Birmingham (12th)
Blackburn Rovers (15th)
Bolton Wanderers (6th)
Charlton Athletic (11th)
Chelsea (1st)
Everton (4th)
Fulham (13th)
Liverpool (5th)
Manchester City (8th)
Manchester United (3rd)
Middlesbrough (7th)
Newcastle United (14th)
Portsmouth (16th)
Sunderland (1st, newly promoted from English Championship)
Tottenham Hotspur (9th)
West Bromwich Albion (17th)
Wigan (2nd, newly promoted from English Championship)
West Ham (6th [won playoff competition], newly promoted from English Championship)

Discuss!
Last edited by The Miz on Tue May 31, 2005 4:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Modest to the top.
User avatar
Cecil B DeMille Life Time Achievement
Posts: 9680
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:01 am
Cash on hand: 1,889.30
Bank: 44,213.00
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Mood: doubting
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:27 am
Don't forget that the final of the Scottish FA Cup Final will air on Fox Sports at 12:00am this Sunday! Celtic v Dundee Utd!
Modest to the top.
PreviousNext

Return to The Locker Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron